|||

Streets Ahead: own the road with Owns the Road

A new focus for the Cypher System.

Knight Rider is 1982, and that’s Almost the ’70s.Knight Rider is 1982, and that’s Almost the ’70s.

Today is my 50th birthday! Happy birthday to me!1 To celebrate, I’m unveiling my first-ever for-sale product. It’s called Owns the Road, it’s a new focus2 for the Cypher System, and it’s available for free to all paying newsletter members and all three levels of Patreon membership.

Rpgs allow you to be whatever you can imagine, but it’s usually some kind of organic biped. What this game supplement presupposes is: what if you were a car? One that could think and talk and, if necessary, run people over? If this sounds like something that’s right up your street, then download Owns the Road and give it a test drive.

The current file (2/22/22) is a basic Pages document, about 2,500 words, converted to a PDF, with no cover and a minor amount of formatting. My intention for this and all future products is to sell them on DriveThruRPG3. However, that won’t happen until I can make a cover and give it some pleasant formatting4. (Towards that end, I am watching YouTube tutorials for Procreate and Swift Publisher and taking notes.) Also, it’s possible that I will add additional text to the document before putting it on DriveThruRPG. Regardless of what changes I make to the file, all paying members will have access to the updated document, and I will make an announcement of all changes when they occur.

This could be you!This could be you!

My goal for Against the 70s is to publish a new product at the end of every month5. The first few will be player-centered foci, but later releases will include a book of creatures and adventure hooks inspired by Phantasm, a book of game material inspired by Rollerball6, as well as rules for (and examples of) Patrons, powerful and mysterious NPCs who employ the player characters.

I hope you enjoy Owns the Road, and thank you for your support!

You can download Owns the Road here.


  1. 2/16/24: And in six days of this footnote, I’ll be 52. Happy Birthday to me!↩︎

  2. A refresher for those unfamiliar with the Cypher System. A player character is made of three parts: a descriptor, a type, and a focus. The descriptor is an adjective that imparts various advantages and disadvantages. The type is like a character class, and there’s only four: Warrior, Adept, Explorer, and Speaker. These loosely map to Dungeon & Dragons Fighter, Mage, Rogue, and Cleric/Bard. The focus is like a super-specific subclass that imparts a number of special abilities. You can freely combine descriptors, types, and foci. The result is a sentence; for example, a Stealthy Explorer who Consorts with the Dead. Focus names are always created to go after the word who,” and as such, can look awkward when used by themselves.↩︎

  3. 2/16/24: Maybe one day, but not today.↩︎

  4. 2/16/24: Still haven’t.↩︎

  5. 2/16/24: Lol, no, even if I was the fastest writer ever, I don’t think I could ever keep up that pace and I was a fool for even thinking it.↩︎

  6. 2/16/24: Haven’t got around to these, but reading this re-fires my enthusiasm. Not going to guarantee anything, but I’ll try and put out at least one of these this year. I really enjoyed writing Owns the Road, I’m very proud of the result, and to be blunt, I want to chase that high again.↩︎

Up next Gone in 60 Seconds (1974, H.B. Halicki) Damnation Alley (1977, Jack Smight)
Latest posts Master of the Flying Guillotine (1976, Jimmy Wang Yu) May Poll (for June) April Poll Winner! Silent Running (1972, Douglas Trumbull) Zardoz (1974, John Boorman) You know what I want to post? Struts. April 2022 Poll (for May) The Incredible Melting Man (1977, William Sachs) Kiss Meets the Phantom of the Park (1978, Gordon Hessler) Let’s All Go to the Lobby 3/5/22 March 2022 Poll Damnation Alley (1977, Jack Smight) Streets Ahead: own the road with Owns the Road Gone in 60 Seconds (1974, H.B. Halicki) Saturday Night Fever (1977, John Badham) Soylent Green (1973, Richard Fleischer) Captain Kronos: Vampire Hunter (1974, Brian Clemens) Phantasm (1979, Don Coscarelli) We interrupt this broadcast for an important bulletin! Laserblast (1978, Michael Rae) The Warriors (1979, Walter Hill) Logan’s Run (1976, Michael Anderson) Let’s All Go to the Lobby 12/2/21 The Muppet Movie (1979, James Frawley) Klute (1971, Alan J. Pakula) The Car (1977, Elliot Silverstein) Death Bed: The Bed That Eats (1977, George Barry) Why the Cypher System? Welcome to Against the ’70s!