|||

We interrupt this broadcast for an important bulletin!

Against the 70s will return January 3rd.

Black Christmas, I gave you my heart.Black Christmas, I gave you my heart.

As the title says, no post today. I know I said I wanted to use the weekends to finish up posts, but I didn’t count on Christmas arriving on the weekend, despite every calendar in existence trying to warn me. I tried to finish it, I really did, but my family got Mario Party Superstars and Gang Beasts 1 and I got Gloomhaven: Jaws of the Lion, and look, if I had willpower I wouldn’t have diabetes. Anyway, hope everyone had a wonderful holiday weekend, and I’ll be back on January 3rd with a new post and several new write-ups for the Cypher System. What’s the movie? Well, you’ll just have to see, but it’s one that’s philosophically very important for the Against the 70s concept, and one that is extremely important to me historically, developmentally, emotionally, and existentially. So no pressure on me or anything.

See you next week!

Merry Christmas from Billy and the gang!Merry Christmas from Billy and the gang!


  1. ETA 1/11/24: We still play Gang Beasts but I don’t think we’ve played Mario Party since this particular Christmas. I like Mario Party! Now I want to play Mario Party.↩︎

Up next Laserblast (1978, Michael Rae) Phantasm (1979, Don Coscarelli)
Latest posts Master of the Flying Guillotine (1976, Jimmy Wang Yu) May Poll (for June) April Poll Winner! Silent Running (1972, Douglas Trumbull) Zardoz (1974, John Boorman) You know what I want to post? Struts. April 2022 Poll (for May) The Incredible Melting Man (1977, William Sachs) Kiss Meets the Phantom of the Park (1978, Gordon Hessler) Let’s All Go to the Lobby 3/5/22 March 2022 Poll Damnation Alley (1977, Jack Smight) Streets Ahead: own the road with Owns the Road Gone in 60 Seconds (1974, H.B. Halicki) Saturday Night Fever (1977, John Badham) Soylent Green (1973, Richard Fleischer) Captain Kronos: Vampire Hunter (1974, Brian Clemens) Phantasm (1979, Don Coscarelli) We interrupt this broadcast for an important bulletin! Laserblast (1978, Michael Rae) The Warriors (1979, Walter Hill) Logan’s Run (1976, Michael Anderson) Let’s All Go to the Lobby 12/2/21 The Muppet Movie (1979, James Frawley) Klute (1971, Alan J. Pakula) The Car (1977, Elliot Silverstein) Death Bed: The Bed That Eats (1977, George Barry) Why the Cypher System? Welcome to Against the ’70s!